A  A 

February 9, 2017

Dear Parents/Guardians,

I am writing today to inform you that the final report regarding the Chatham elementary schools pupil accommodation review is now completed and has been posted to the Board’s public website.  You can view the report at http://tiny.cc/chathamparc.

As I indicated in my most recent letter to you on January 26, 2017, the Pupil Accommodation Review Committee (PARC) has come to the consensus that it supports Option A, as outlined in the Initial Staff Report, which was presented to Trustees last September.  Option A would see the French Immersion program re-located to a fully refurbished Our Lady of Fatima; the six remaining Catholic elementary schools in Chatham would be closed; and two brand new schools would be built, one in north Chatham and one in south Chatham.  Also included in the report is a list of considerations, which PARC members will ask Trustees to weigh, as they make their decision.  Each of the considerations is listed in detail in the final report.

The report will be presented to the Board of Trustees for information on Tuesday, February 14, 2017; however, the Board will not vote on the matter until its Regular Meeting of Tuesday, March 28, 2017.  It is also important to note that a final decision regarding funding for any future capital projects rests with the Ministry of Education.

Should parents/guardians wish to make a presentation to the Board of Trustees regarding the final report, there is an opportunity to do so at the Tuesday, February 28, 2017 Regular Meeting.  Under the Board’s Procedural By-Laws, delegations are required to submit a written application to appear before the Board by 1:00 p.m. one week prior to the Board meeting, in order to be included on the agenda. Therefore, the application, including the entire written presentation, the names of those represented in the presentation and the name of the spokesperson, must be received by 1:00 p.m. on Tuesday, February 21, 2017.  The complete relevant section, which is Sec. 8.5 – Delegations and Submissions from the Procedural By-Laws, can be found on the Board website.  Go to the “Board” tab on the main page at www.st-clair.net and click on “Policies” and then “Procedural By-Laws” under Section A – Governance. 

Anyone wishing to appear as a delegation is asked to register according to the rules outlined above by the February 21, 2017 deadline.  Please contact Nancy Bechard, Executive Assistant to the Director of Education by email at nancy.bechard@st-clair.net or by telephone at 519-627-6762 ext. 10241.

Again, I wish to thank Superintendent Deb Crawford and the members of the Pupil Accommodation Review Committee for their tremendous work throughout this important process.

Sincerely,

Dan Parr

Director of Education

Feb 09, 2017

Subscribe

 
RSS Feed To receive updates, subscribe to our RSS feed